Vacationing With The Family

This week I will be vacationing in Long Beach Island, NJ.  We go every year.  I love the shore, but I would say vacationing with children is not relaxing!

When Max was first born we never vacationed.  What was the point in bringing an infant on vacation.? He wouldn’t remember anything and we would end up taking care of him the entire time and not really enjoying ourselves.  When he turned two we began to go to the Jersey shore.  We wanted him to have family memories.

This year we have Lucas with us.  We are making some awesome memories for Max and soon we will be doing the same for the baby.

Anyway, back to the relaxation part or lack thereof.  Rearranging the car to fit two children was a challenge, but my husband was up for it.  I drove down to LBI.  The first 25 minutes was full of excitement, followed by everyone quickly falling asleep (and Max playing video games.)  I began to feel my eyes droop.  The worst feeling in the world is being tired while driving.  I couldn’t even put the music louder, because I didn’t want to wake the baby.

Finally over an hour into the drive everyone woke up and I began to pep up.  My pep quickly turned into aggravation when my son began the-

ARE WE THERE YET?  ARE WE THERE YET?  HOW BOUT NOW? NOW? NOW?

We finally reach LBI, but to get on the island there is only one road, so you can imagine there is always a little bit of traffic.  Well yesterday there was TONS of traffic.  Nowhere to pull over.  We have to ride it out until we get to the island, inch by inch.  Stop, go, stop, go, stop, go.

That is when Max screamed, “There’s a BUG!!!! IN THE CAR!! IT WILL BITE ME!!”

And all hell broke loose.  The baby started to cry and it quickly turned into a wail.  I check the time. Oh bananas!  It is almost time for him to eat.  I check the traffic.  Still as far as the eye can see and at a crawl.  I just have to make it past the bridge and I can pull over.  Just focus on getting there.

Max’s arms are flailing.  Lucas is screeching in hunger.  That is when this song came on the radio-

My husband and I are big into 90s alternative.  The chorus is “I’m going hungry”.  Yes, Lucas was starving and he was letting everyone know.  At one point, I looked over at the car next time.  I saw a woman in the driver’s seat.  Her shoulders were sagging, defeated.  Three kids in the back screaming, wiggling, arms waving.  Husband in the passenger seat fast asleep.  We looked at each other for a brief second in understanding.

I was snapped back to reality with a, “THE BUG IS BACK! THE BUG! THE BUG!”

We finally did make it to the hotel.  All a little weary.  Except for the baby.  He had a great nap and finally was fed.  He made sure I did not take any naps.

Vacation LBI

Instead, we went in the pool.  I knew that would knock them out!  We swam for about 45 minutes.  When I finally took the baby out he curled up in my arms and put his head down.  I love when he does that.

I think this will be a great vacation.



Categories: Family

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 reply

  1. Traveling with 3 small kids is definitely a challenge. We regularly do a 5hr car ride to see family. It’s taken much trial and error to find the system that works for us.

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Tina's Cup of Tea

Lifestyle ~ Teaching ~ Beauty ~ Parenting

fromtheheart1's Blog

Thoughts on life, family, and love

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

nataliejo210

A Fashion Blog

Kinderlime

Childcare software for Sign In Out, Attendance, Billing and Daily Reports

The Perfect Kind of Crazy

...my life as I know it

Wildflower Women

Just another WordPress.com site

Unlocking the Gate

Helping our children engage with the natural world and local community

Where Are Your Pants?

And Other Questions I Shouldn't Have to Answer

juicygreenmom

green living on a sensible budget

INGSPIRATIONS | Purposeful Living for Busy Parents

Ideas on mindful parenting, simplifying your life and focusing on what really matters. For Busy Parents.

The Adventures of Fanny P.

...because life is just one big adventure...

Moments in Mommyland

Filthy Floors, Happy Hearts, Making Memories

never static

-family is an art form-

My 3 Monsters

#lifewithkids ages 2, 4, 5 years

Homeschool Gameschool

Using games and hands-on activities to enrich your child's education

