Stories From My Bathroom

Why can I not go to the bathroom in peace?  What is it about motherhood that has completely stripped me of bathroom privacy?  And, believe me, there is nothing like lack of bathroom privacy to totally drain the sexy out of you.

It never fails.  The minute I go into the bathroom my son is banging on the door.

“MOM!  What are you doing?”

Really?  Just the question you want to be asked while sitting in the bathroom.

“I’m having a cupcake party, Max.  I’ll be out when I finish all of the cupcakes.”

Gasp of outrage.

“You didn’t invite me?”  I hear my son stomp his foot.

I slowly put my head in my hands.

Stories From My Bathroom

My family must love this view because they are always trying to knock down the door to see it!

The other day Max’s friend came over to play.  I set them up with arts and crafts.  Put out some snacks.  It was the perfect time to take a few minutes to use the bathroom.

Giggles and scratching at the door, followed by, “Bathrooms smell. Ha ha!”

“Max, what are you doing?”

Peals of laughter.

“We are trying to look under the door at you!”

“GO PLAY IN YOUR ROOM!”

My husband came home today while I was in the bathroom.  All of a sudden the door began to shake as my husband pounded on it.

“I’ve been in the car for an hour.  Gotta go!!!”

You’ve got to be kidding me!  I have to rush out of the bathroom for EVERYONE??

Now the baby is hopping on board.  He will not just cry when I go to the bathroom.  He will scream like he is being tortured while I’m doing my business.  I refuse to take him in with me.  He can cry for the 2 minutes it takes me to finish!

I just realized as I finished writing this that everyone is sleeping in the house!  I’m taking this opportunity to use the bathroom in peace!



Categories: Parenting

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. Yes – I feel your pain. It never ends. we happen to be living with my in-laws, and Twice my brother-in-law has walked in on me using the bathroom. I mean really?!? Once I could understand … but Twice. Now I’ve taken to locking the door when I’m in there – and it’s become a habit – Walk in, turn the light/fan on, shut & lock the door. Then my oldest decides that it would be fun to play cars with mommy under the bathroom door. So I’ll get random hotwheels zooming towards my feet, or it will be markers or blocks. Anything that will fit through the crack. And then if I’m not fast enough, or the object hasn’t traveled far enough, he’ll wine and complain that mommy hasn’t returned his item. …. 2 minutes is too long sometimes – specially when everybody wants your attention.

Trackbacks

  1. The Arts and Philosophy Department of Miami Dade College Wolfson Presents: Invisible Presence & Head in the Bathroom. | The Cuban Art Project
  2. Latino US: Cotidiano. Photographer Dulce Pinzón conferences about this national traveling exhibition | The Cuban Art Project
  3. Museo de Arte en Torre de la Libertad del MDC anuncia su temporada 2013-2014 | The Cuban Art Project

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Tina's Cup of Tea

Lifestyle ~ Teaching ~ Beauty ~ Parenting

fromtheheart1's Blog

Thoughts on life, family, and love

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

nataliejo210

A Fashion Blog

Kinderlime

Childcare software for Sign In Out, Attendance, Billing and Daily Reports

The Perfect Kind of Crazy

...my life as I know it

Wildflower Women

Just another WordPress.com site

Unlocking the Gate

Helping our children engage with the natural world and local community

Where Are Your Pants?

And Other Questions I Shouldn't Have to Answer

juicygreenmom

green living on a sensible budget

INGSPIRATIONS | Purposeful Living for Busy Parents

Ideas on mindful parenting, simplifying your life and focusing on what really matters. For Busy Parents.

The Adventures of Fanny P.

...because life is just one big adventure...

Moments in Mommyland

One Mothers journey to living her best life while raising three kids.

never static

-family is an art form-

My 3 Monsters

#lifewithkids ages 2, 4, 5 years

Homeschool Gameschool

Using games and hands-on activities to enrich your child's education

