Watermelon, Warts, Weddings, And Some Good Sleeping

That pretty much sums up my weekend.

On Friday I was packing for a wedding weekend.  My husband’s friend was getting married.  While deciding which shoes would be comfortable enough (I go for comfort over style every time), Max was eating every bit of watermelon we had in the house like his life depended on it.

“Mom, I NEED more watermelon.”

“I  think you ate the last of it.

“WHAT?  Why didn’t you buy more?  Don’t you know I NEED it?  I bet they’ll have it at the wedding (followed by a dirty look)”

I thought about following him into his room to explain to him how he was being disrespectful yada yada yada, but I was going away for the weekend.  WOO!  See ya later, son!  You can jones for watermelon all weekend and it will not matter.  I won’t be here!  WOO!

Pretty soon my husband and I were on our way.  I was happy to be child free for a little bit and relaxed because I knew they were in good hands with my mother.

Jill&Joe335 crop

Joe and I on our wedding day!

I love weddings, whether I know the bride and groom well or not.  It is always fun to see how they plan everything.  What they decide for colors, decorations, vows.  Most of all it is always so full of love.  I cannot help but to think about my own wedding and marriage to my husband.  We have been married almost 6 years and it has been the best 6 years of my life.  This wedding took place in a firehouse, which I thought was pretty unique.  It had a very shabby chic feel to it.  We had a great time and the best part-  I slept the whole night through.  No one woke me up.  I was refreshed.  Of course, when I spoke with my mother she sounded tired.  Just a few more hours and that was going to be me again!

As much as I want a weekend away, it was amazing to see the kids when we got back.  I could smoosh their faces all day.

Yesterday, I took my son to the doctors for a wart on his finger.  I covered it up with a band-aid before I left for the wedding, but he is five.  The bandage was soon gone and he picked at it all weekend.   Our co-payment is $50 which always annoys me, but he had to get it taken care of.  Warts are out of my league.

We waited for an hour to see the doctor.  Max was climbing up the wall.  The baby was doing this insane laughing/crying thing.  He was about to break down any second.    Finally, the doctor came in!  She took one look at the wart, put a band-aid on it and told us she couldn’t help.  We needed to see a dermatologist.

Did I just pay $50 for a band-aid?  And it did not even have a character on it?

Fun weekend is officially over!



Categories: Family

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 replies

  1. That is one expensive band-aid! Are you going to frame it? 😛

  2. From experience with my brother. They sell this stuff at Wal-Mart. It looks like a felt piece and you stick it on the wart each day and it removes the wart.
    http://www.walmart.com/ip/893371?wmlspartner=wlpa&adid=22222222227000000000&wl0=&wl1=g&wl2=c&wl3=21486607510&wl4=&wl5=pla&wl6=19880599990&veh=sem
    Like these. Probably a lot cheaper then going to a dermatologist if you are sure what he has is a wart. Those buggers are a pain to get rid of! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Tina's Cup of Tea

Lifestyle ~ Teaching ~ Beauty ~ Parenting

fromtheheart1's Blog

Thoughts on life, family, and love

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

nataliejo210

A Fashion Blog

Kinderlime

Childcare software for Sign In Out, Attendance, Billing and Daily Reports

The Perfect Kind of Crazy

...my life as I know it

Wildflower Women

Just another WordPress.com site

Unlocking the Gate

Helping our children engage with the natural world and local community

Where Are Your Pants?

And Other Questions I Shouldn't Have to Answer

juicygreenmom

green living on a sensible budget

INGSPIRATIONS | Purposeful Living for Busy Parents

Ideas on mindful parenting, simplifying your life and focusing on what really matters. For Busy Parents.

The Adventures of Fanny P.

...because life is just one big adventure...

Moments in Mommyland

One Mothers journey to living her best life while raising three kids.

never static

-family is an art form-

My 3 Monsters

#lifewithkids ages 2, 4, 5 years

Homeschool Gameschool

Using games and hands-on activities to enrich your child's education

