Black Market Tour Guides In Disney

A recent story, reported in the New York Post, has come out claiming that wealthy Manhattan mothers have found a way to cut those long Disney lines by hiring disabled people (through Dream Tours Florida), posing as family members.  Disney has a rule that a guest with a scooter or wheelchair can bring up to six family members to the front of the line, at an auxiliary entrance.  An  eight-hour day will cost over $1,000.  Fast passes are more expensive than this.

It appears that this is a very underground operation, only known by certain people, who share the contact information for this tour guide with each other.  Dr. Wednesday Martin, a social anthropologist, discovered the scheme happening amongst the Manhattan moms while doing research for her new book.

One mother states, “My daughter waited one minute to get on ‘It’s a Small World’- the other kids had to wait 2 1/2 hours.”

I hope that it is worth it, because what has your daughter learned from this???  That it is ok to use people’s disabilities for your own convenience?  What kind of overly entitled children are we raising here?  This is wrong on so many levels and I have not been able to stop thinking about it all week.

Sometimes we have to wait in line.  Sometimes we have to practice patience.  I’m thinking all of these children involved in this story need a lesson in patience (so do their mothers).  And that is the least of what they need to learn.  They need to learn that not even money can buy you certain things, because not everything is for sale.  I would hope that if I had a lot of money, and was offered this tour guide, I would say no, because I would never want  my children to feel that doing something like this is acceptable.

Being able to afford expensive things is great.  I do not have a problem with that.  It is just disheartening to see such a lack of morals being taught to children, who will one day, be running our society.

Am I wrong?  Am I being overly dramatic?  What do you think?



Categories: Family

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. Wow, I do not even know what to respond to this. I work with people who have disabilities (of all types) and I am rather outraged that they would be used in this manner. Furthermore, I think you’re spot on when you question what kind of adults these children will turn into. Poor kids, seriously.

  2. Really it’s sad. I remember fondly all the fun things we talked about while waiting in line for rides on our trip to Disney. It’s part of the experience!

  3. Wow, is that ever disturbing!!! I totally agree with you. What’s scary is that these kids will grow up thinking like their parents and perpetuating the cycle…

  4. Wow. I felt guilty enough when I bought the fast pass…

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Tina's Cup of Tea

Lifestyle ~ Teaching ~ Beauty ~ Parenting

fromtheheart1's Blog

Thoughts on life, family, and love

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

nataliejo210

A Fashion Blog

Kinderlime

Childcare software for Sign In Out, Attendance, Billing and Daily Reports

The Perfect Kind of Crazy

...my life as I know it

Wildflower Women

Just another WordPress.com site

Unlocking the Gate

Helping our children engage with the natural world and local community

Where Are Your Pants?

And Other Questions I Shouldn't Have to Answer

juicygreenmom

green living on a sensible budget

INGSPIRATIONS | Purposeful Living for Busy Parents

Ideas on mindful parenting, simplifying your life and focusing on what really matters. For Busy Parents.

The Adventures of Fanny P.

...because life is just one big adventure...

Moments in Mommyland

One Mothers journey to living her best life while raising three kids.

never static

-family is an art form-

My 3 Monsters

#lifewithkids ages 2, 4, 5 years

Homeschool Gameschool

Using games and hands-on activities to enrich your child's education

