A Tale Of What Happens When You Stand Up To A Bully

what happens when you stand up to a bullyOne of my biggest fears has always been my son and bullies.  When he first comes across a bully (and it is inevitable that he will) will he be ok?  Will he stand up for himself?  Will he feel bad about himself?  Will he be able to tell me about it?  I hope he will be able to tell me about it.

I came across this book in  Barnes and Noble ,  Leave Me Alone: A tale of what happens when you stand up to a bully by Kes Gray and Lee Wildish.  It touched me with its simple message.  It reminded me that I can teach my son about bullies and what to do when confronted with one; however, more needs to be done!  The community needs to be involved with bullying.  Children need to be taught to stand up for one another.  Teachers need to address this at an early age and not just on special occasions.  How to treat each other and handle bullies should be apart of the every day curriculum.  Yes, we want our children to learn reading, science, and math.  We also want to teach then how to be empathetic, productive members of society.

The boy at the beginning of this story does not realize that he can ask for help and that people want to help!

“Leave me alone, ” I said.

“Sorry,” said the fly.

“I saw you looking miserable, And couldn’t pass you by.”

One by one his friends come to see what is wrong, but the boy still does not understand how they can help him.

There’s nothing you can do for me,

There’s nothing you can say.

Oh, no, the ground is shaking!

He’s heading right this way!

In the end all of the boy’s friends stand by his side and the bully walks away. How many bullies, in real life, would walk away if our children stood together?

It is a great book to read to your children, whether they are being bullied or not.  It teaches them to help someone in need and that bullies are not as scary as they first appear.



Categories: Bullying, Family

Tags: , , ,

7 replies

  1. Reblogged this on allaboutmanners and commented:
    So true.

  2. Buying this one!

  3. Great post, excellent book! Thank you for the recommendation.

  4. Such an important subject and I agree that we need to open this dialogue with our kids EARLY. From the time my son started 3 year old pre-school, we talked about how to treat others and how to respond to different scenarios. Today, my 14 year old sticks up for those who are too afraid to stick up for themselves. This sounds like a great book for starting that dialogue.

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Tina's Cup of Tea

Lifestyle ~ Teaching ~ Beauty ~ Parenting

fromtheheart1's Blog

Thoughts on life, family, and love

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

nataliejo210

A Fashion Blog

Kinderlime

Childcare software for Sign In Out, Attendance, Billing and Daily Reports

The Perfect Kind of Crazy

...my life as I know it

Wildflower Women

Just another WordPress.com site

Unlocking the Gate

Helping our children engage with the natural world and local community

Where Are Your Pants?

And Other Questions I Shouldn't Have to Answer

juicygreenmom

green living on a sensible budget

INGSPIRATIONS | Purposeful Living for Busy Parents

Ideas on mindful parenting, simplifying your life and focusing on what really matters. For Busy Parents.

The Adventures of Fanny P.

...because life is just one big adventure...

Moments in Mommyland

One Mothers journey to living her best life while raising three kids.

never static

-family is an art form-

My 3 Monsters

#lifewithkids ages 2, 4, 5 years

Homeschool Gameschool

Using games and hands-on activities to enrich your child's education

